Resources: Scholarships and Awards

The Political Science Advising Office has information regarding a wide variety of scholarship and intership opportunities. Political science undergrads are encouraged to stop by and explore their possibilities in Smith 215.

Political Science Civic Engagement and Research Grants

The Political Science Department is pleased to announce two new grants for undergraduates.

The Kaplan/Levi Undergraduate Grant to Promote Civic Engagement was created through the generosity of Robert D. Kaplan, Distinguished Alumnus of the UW Department of Political Science, and Margaret Levi, Jere L. Bacharach Professor of International Studies in the UW Department of Political Science. This grant provides $500 in financial support to students who seek through civic engagement to address issues of public concern. The grant should be used to cover expenses related to the project.

The David J. Olson Undergraduate Research Grant was created to honor David J. Olson, Professor Emeritus and former Chair of Political Science at the University of Washington. This grant provides $500 for expenses related to undergraduate research on state, regional or city politics or labor politics. The grant recipient will need to register for Pol S 499 (Independent Research) in spring or summer of 2013.

See the attached documents for application instructions (Kaplan-Levi, Olson). Applications are being accepted for spring or summer 2013 and are due to the Political Science Advising Office by Thursday, January 31. Grant recipients will be announced in mid-February.

If you have questions, please contact Professor Jamie Mayerfeld (206-543-4717, or Meera Roy (206-543-9456,

The Office of Merit Scholarships, Fellowships & Awards

The Office of Merit Scholarships, Fellowships & Awards maintains listings and information on merit based scholarships. Many of these scholarships have deadlines in early fall, so it is recoomended that you look into them as early as possible. Included in the listings are the Marshall Scholarship, the Rhodes Scholarship, the Fulbright-Hayes Grant, the National Science Foundation Fellowship, the Truman Scholarship, and the Andrew Mellon Fellowships, among others. The scholarship office is located in Room 120 Mary Gates Hall.

Agnes C. Nelson Memorial Scholarship

The Departments of Political Science and Economics make annual full-tuition awards to students who demonstrate interest in the interrelationship of politics and economics. To be eligible for the scholarship, students must have completed a minimum of 25 credits in political science and economics with at least 10 credits in each disipline. Deadlines are posted early in spring quarter.

Hugh A. Bone Scholarship

The Hugh A. Bone Schoalrship was established in 1987 and the first awards were made during the winter quarter of 1987. They are available to students who apply to one of the department's full-time internship programs, and are based on a student's financial need as well as their interest in public service. Applications are accepted in early November. Generally the awards are made to two interns for service at any time during the coming year.

The Robert A. Dahl Award

The Department of Political Science recognizes an outstanding graduating senior with the Robert A. Dahl Award. To be eligible for consideration, a student must demonstrate scholarship excellence as well as high interest in political science as a discipline.

Martin and Anne Jugum Scholarship in Labor Studies

Each year, the Harry Bridges for Labor Studies awards this large tuition scholarship to outstanding undergraduates who exhibit a commitment to labor research or practice, which is named for longtime International Longshore and Warehouse Union member and leader Martin Jugum and his wife Anne. Scholarship winners must demonstrate high academic achievement and be enrolled for Fall Quarter of the upcoming academic year. Deadlines are posted early in Spring quarter.

Labor and Employment Relations Association Scholarship

Administered by the Harry Bridges for Labor Studies, the Labor and Employment Relations Association (LERA) generously funds an annual scholarship for students, graduate or undergraduate, who are committed to pursuing a profession in labor and/or labor management. The annual deadline is posted at the beginning of Spring quarter.