

Faculty Meeting

14 February 2025 12:00 – 1:30pm

Gowen Hall, Room 1A

MINUTES

Attendance (Voting Faculty)

+	Christopher Adolph	+	Gabriella Levy	+	Noga Rotem
+	Caitlin Ainsley	+	James Long (Assoc. Chair)		Mark Smith (Sabbatical)
+	Asli Cansunar		George Lovell		Rebecca Thorpe (Sabbatical)
+	Rachel Cichowski (Chair)	+	Jamie Mayerfeld	+	Jack Turner
+	Megan Ming Francis		Victor Menaldo	+	Geoffrey Wallace
+	Anthony Gill	+	Margaret Perez Brower	+	Sophia Wallace
+	James Dongjin Kim	+	Aseem Prakash		Susan Whiting (Sabbatical)
+	Scott Lemieux				John Wilkerson

Present: Ed Connery (Administrator)

Call To Order: 12:09pm

I. Minutes of the Previous Meeting

a. 22 November 2024 APPROVED (Unanimous)

- II. Announcements and Reminders
 - a. Updates on staffing levels in Administrative and Advising Offices.
- III. Updates and Action Items
 - a. Updates from CAS: Instructional Funding, Executive Order effects
 - b. Update on Autumn 2025 Grad Admissions
 - Overview of application numbers, qualitative overview of the pool, targets for admissions and recruitment. All planning is based on maintaining fiscal stability for the department while also making competitive offers to the best candidates.
 - c. GPC report out and discussion on faculty survey of Political Science Grad Program

- i. Overview of internal assessment of the strengths, challenges, and opportunities in the Politics Science doctoral program.
 - 1. Size of Program
 - 2. Goals and metrics of doctoral student placement
 - 3. Importance of Mentoring & Advising
 - 4. Subfields within curriculum
 - 5. Structure of doctoral exams
- ii. Discussion
- d. Update and initial faculty discussions about possible undergraduate course structure reform.

i. TABLED

Adjourn: 1:35pm