You are here

Scholarships for UK studies/research: Rhodes, Marshall, Mitchell, Gates Cambridge, Churchill information sessions

Submitted by Caterina Rost on January 29, 2016 - 12:33pm

Would you like to pursue graduate study and/or research at a university in the UK or Ireland?  Consider applying for University of Washington nomination to compete for scholarship support for graduate studies/research at colleges in England, Ireland, Wales, and Scotland through the Rhodes, Marshall, Mitchell, Gates Cambridge or Churchill scholarship programs.

Brief descriptions of these scholarships are included below. We’re also offering upcoming information sessions to learn more:

Applicants should meet the following general requirements:

  1. Have obtained a baccalaureate degree by August 2017
  2. Be a U.S. Citizen at time of application. International students can apply for both the Rhodes and Gates Cambridge programs through their home countries. Rhodes also allows applications from lawful permanent residents of the US prior to and including at least 5 years of the application deadline.
  3. A 3.7 GPA or higher is recommended for competitiveness in the campus selection process as well as the national competitions, even where the eligibility requirements do not state a GPA minimum.
  4. Age requirements: Mitchell (29 or younger), Rhodes (23 or younger) on October 1st.

Campus Nomination Deadline: April 7, 2016

Brief descriptions:

Winston Churchill Scholarship:

The Churchill supports one year of graduate study in mathematics, science and engineering at Churchill College, Cambridge University, England.  Applicants should have a GPA of 3.7 or higher, and have extensive experience in laboratory research. Applicants must be planning to earn a bachelor’s degree between 12/2015-8/2017.

For more information, please see:


Gates Cambridge:

The Gates Cambridge supports one to three years of graduate study (in any discipline) at the University of Cambridge.  Students must apply directly and be accepted to the University before they are referred to the Foundation for scholarship consideration.  Applicants should have a 3.6 GPA or higher and must receive a bachelor’s degree before beginning study at Cambridge.

For more information, please see:


Marshall Scholarship:

The Marshall provides students up to two years of financial support to study at any university in England, Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland.  Applicants must have a GPA of 3.7 and must be planning to earn a bachelor’s degree between April 2014-August 2017.

For more information, please see:


Mitchell Scholarship:

The Mitchell awards students one year of funding for study at institutions of higher education in Ireland.  The scholarship is open to all divisions of study, and students must have a completed bachelor’s degree before beginning study.  Application is open to all juniors, seniors and recent graduates who are or will be over age 18 and not yet 30 on Sept. 30, 2016. Applicants should have a 3.5 GPA or higher.

For more information, please see:


Rhodes Scholarship:

The Rhodes Scholarship provides students with funding for two or three years at Oxford University in England.  Applicants must have a 3.7 GPA or higher to apply for campus nomination.

For more information, please see:


Note:  The Gates Cambridge, Marshall and Rhodes scholarships provide enough funding to complete a graduate degree.

If you have any questions regarding the listed scholarships, please contact me! Additional details regarding the campus nomination process are also available on our website: (keyword search for each scholarship to get to each scholarship page).