You are here

Professor Aseem Prakash and Colleagues win William E. Mosher and Frederick C. Mosher Award

Submitted by Caterina Rost on February 17, 2017 - 1:54pm

UW Political Science Professor Aseem Prakash and two of his colleagues have been awarded the William E. Mosher and Frederick C. Mosher Award for their article "Regulation by Reputation: Monitoring and Sanctioning in Nonprofit Accountability Clubs." The award honors the best article published in Public Administration Review in the year 2016. Professor Prakash wrote the article with Georgia State University Assistant Professor and graduate of our department Joannie Tremblay-Boire and Professor Mary Kay Gugerty from the UW Evans School of Public Policy and Governance.

In the article, the authors analyze 224 nonprofit accountability clubs to answer the question “what factors account for the variation in the strength of monitoring and sanctioning mechanisms” in these clubs? Based on their analysis, they argue “that stringent monitoring and sanctioning mechanisms are more likely in fund-raising-focused clubs, clubs that offer certification, and clubs with greater longevity.” 

The article was published in volume 76 issue 5 of the Public Administration Review. And the award will be presented to the authors at the annual meeting of American Society for Public Administration (ASPA) in Atlanta, March 2017.

People Involved: 
News Category: