You are here

Professor Mark Smith wins book award for ‘Secular Faith’

Submitted by Caterina Rost on February 27, 2017 - 9:13am

UW Political Science Professor Mark A. Smith has been awarded the 2015 Morris D. Forkosch Book Award for his most recent book Secular Faith: How Culture Has Trumped Religion in American Politics. In the book, Smith illustrates how Christian leaders within the United States “have regularly revised their teachings to match the beliefs and opinions gaining support among their members and larger society.”

The Council for Secular Humanism, publisher of FREE INQUIRY magazine, gives this award to recognize the most outstanding book on a subject relating to secular humanism. Past winners of this prestigious award include Stephen Jay Gould, Daniel Dennett, Richard Dawkins, Susan Jacoby, and Rebecca Newberger Goldstein. The endowment fund that supports the award “was established in 1987 by Morris D. Forkosch and the Council for Secular Humanism to help further the cause of humanism by honoring individuals who make the greatest contributions to its advancement.”   

People Involved: 
News Category: